The Amazing Secret of EMDR

secreat revieled

Unleashing Me

Years ago, when I was going through my rocky teenage years, my mom and I were having an enormously difficult time getting along. This isn’t a terribly unique phenomenon, but my anger with my circumstances was escalating to the point of self-injury. So we decided I should try therapy.

Wall Hangings 004

My therapist suggested EMDR, or Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing. In brief, the therapy utilizes one of various forms of bilateral sensory input to help suffers of PTSD or other traumatic experiences reprocess their inadequately processed memories.

“But I don’t have any traumatic memories,” I remember saying. “I had a normal childhood.”

But what I discovered was that I didn’t think I had any traumatic experiences because I was viewing my life through the lens of an adult. The eyes of a child process the world very differently. This revelation not only helped me through this tough time with my mom but also changed…

View original post 695 more words

Leave a Reply

